Skip to content
Rovaniemi Winter

Husky safaris in Rovaniemi

In Rovaniemi the word safari covers everything from a ten-minute ride in Santa Claus Village to an hour behind your own team. This page sorts the formats by distance so you know what you are booking.

6 min read Updated October 2026 Tours for this page

Two sled dogs pulling a sled along a trail through snowy forest, seen from the sled
Seen from the sled: two dogs on a forest trail. Photo: Benjamin Zanatta / Unsplash

Two tours that are both sold as a husky safari can differ by several kilometres on the sled. A combination tour with reindeer may give you 500 metres behind the dogs, while a self-drive safari covers 7–10 km and keeps you on the runners for about an hour. The title rarely tells you which one you are looking at, so this guide works with the distance and the time on the sled.

Rovaniemi also has dogs right in Santa Claus Village, 8 km north of the centre. The Arctic Circle Husky Park there keeps more than 130 Siberian huskies, and from 30 November 2026 to 4 April 2027 Bearhill Husky runs its rides in the village every day from 10:00 to 16:00.

Short ride or real safari

The table lists the formats you can book from Rovaniemi, from the shortest ride to the longest. Where a listing does not give the time on the sled, the cell says so.

FormatDistanceTime on the sledWho drives
Combination with reindeer rides500 mNot statedMusher
Ride in Santa Claus Village2.5 kmAbout 7–12 minMusher
Passenger ride with a photographer3 kmNot statedMusher
Evening ride and aurora search by car5 kmNot statedMusher
Daytime safariAbout 5 km20–30 minYou, two adults per team
Self-drive with barbecue5–8 kmNot statedYou
Self-drive with transfers6–10 km30–50 minYou
Self-drive tour7–10 kmAbout 1 hourOne driver, up to two passengers
Source: tour listings as recorded in the data sheets of this site and rovaniemi-husky.com (checked September and October 2026).

The total duration says little about the ride. The Santa Claus Village ride takes about 30 minutes from start to finish, which suits a day you are spending in the village anyway. The 6–10 km safari lasts four hours, of which 30–50 minutes are on the sled. The rest goes on the drive out, the briefing and the barbecue. The 7–10 km tour has the highest share of riding in this list: about an hour on the sled within two hours. A few kennels also run longer day safaris of 12–18 km.

The 500-metre rides come as part of combination tours with reindeer and sometimes Santa Claus. They work as a first meeting with the dogs. If the dogs are the reason for your trip, choose one of the longer formats. Our page on reindeer farms and sleigh rides covers those combinations.

Driving your own team

On a self-drive safari you drive the team yourself instead of sitting behind a musher. In most cases two adults share one team. On the daytime safari from Safartica they swap during the ride and children travel in the sled. On the 7–10 km tour one person drives and up to two sit in the sled, so agree before the start who takes the runners and when.

Kennels set their own minimum age for drivers. Bearhill Husky lets you drive from 17, and another operator we checked sets 18. Look for the rule in the listing if a teenager in your group wants to drive.

Be on time for the pick-up: on Safartica’s daytime safari the listing states that late arrivals are not refunded.

A kettle on a grill grate over an open fire, with snowy forest behind
A kettle over the fire in a snowy forest. Photo: Oscar Helgstrand / Unsplash

Season and the autumn cart

Sled rides need a firm snow cover. In Rovaniemi most kennels start between mid and late November and run until early or mid April. The Finnish Meteorological Institute gives a median snow depth of 9 cm at the airport on 15 November and 19 cm on 30 November, rising to 77 cm by mid-March (1991–2020). Santa Claus Village notes that the first lasting snow can come at the end of October in one year and only in early December in another.

Before the snow, some kennels harness the dogs to a wheeled cart. The autumn tour in our list runs in October and November over 5–8 km, and you drive the team yourself. At the other end of the season, some operators switch to carts again in late April.

December has the shortest days. On 21 December 2026 the sun rises at 11:08 and sets at 13:22 in the centre, so a daytime safari in December often takes place in twilight. By March the days are long and the snow is at its deepest.

Cold on a moving sled

January and February are the coldest months, both with an average of −10.3 °C at Rovaniemi airport and an average daily low of −13.5 °C in January. The lowest value in 1991–2020 was −38.1 °C in January 1999. On the sled the airflow adds to that. The Lapland safety brochure warns that wind can cause frostbite quickly even at temperatures just below zero.

Many husky safaris lend thermal overalls and boots, and Visit Finland notes that guided husky rides typically include clothing rental. Check the listing, though: outer clothing is included on the Santa Claus Village ride, while some other tours in Rovaniemi charge extra for overalls and boots. Keep a woollen base layer on underneath, add a scarf and carry your phone in an inside pocket, because the cold drains batteries fast. Our page on what to wear in Rovaniemi goes through the layers.

Dog sledding and the Sámi guidelines

Husky safaris are a tourist activity in Lapland. In its ethical guidelines for Sámi tourism (2018), the Sámi Parliament in Finland calls touristic dog sledding a borrowed tradition and says that in certain areas it is in strong conflict with reindeer herding. The Sámi Homeland in Finland covers Enontekiö, Inari, Utsjoki and the northern part of Sodankylä, so Rovaniemi is outside it. Rovaniemi does lie in the reindeer herding area, as the largest town of the Palojärvi herding cooperative. The guidelines also state that a reindeer herd must not be approached without the owner’s permission, including on a dog sled.

Every husky tour from Rovaniemi, with its distance and time on the sled side by side, is compared on rovaniemi-husky.com.

Husky tours sorted by time on the sled

From an hour behind your own team down to a short ride in Santa Claus Village. Distances and sled times come from the listings.

Husky sledding · A Day In Lapland

Self-drive husky safari, 6–10 km

You drive your own team over 6–10 km with 30–50 minutes on the sled, and the 4 hours include transfers and a barbecue.

  • Duration 4 hours
  • ✓ Free cancellation

4.9 (220 reviews)

from €219 per person

Book on GetYourGuide

Husky sledding · Arctic Circle Snowmobile Park

Self-drive husky tour, 7–10 km

About an hour on the sled over 7–10 km within 2 hours in total, with one driver and up to two passengers per sled.

  • Duration 2 hours
  • ✓ Free cancellation

4.3 (53 reviews)

from €199 per person

Book on GetYourGuide

Husky sledding · Safartica

Self-drive husky safari, 5 km

Around 5 km and 20–30 minutes on the sled, two adults share a team and children ride in the sled.

  • ✓ Free cancellation

4.6 (1,037 reviews)

from €189 per person

Book on GetYourGuide

Husky sledding · Bearhill husky

Husky ride in Santa Claus Village, 2.5 km

A musher drives you 2.5 km from Joulumaantie 4 in Santa Claus Village, so no transfer is needed and outer winter clothing is included.

  • Duration 30 minutes
  • Meeting point Santa Claus Village, Joulumaantie 4, Rovaniemi
  • ✓ Free cancellation

4.7 (1,587 reviews)

from €63 per person

Book on GetYourGuide

Husky sledding · Arctic GM Experiences OY

Self-drive husky safari with BBQ, 5–8 km

You drive your own team over 5 to 8 km in a group of at most 8 guests, followed by a barbecue.

  • Duration 5 hours
  • ✓ Free cancellation

4.4 (460 reviews)

from €239 per person

Book on GetYourGuide

Husky sledding · Beyond Arctic

Husky ride of 3 km with photos

A 3 km ride as a passenger on the husky sled, accompanied by a professional photographer.

  • Duration 2 hours
  • ✓ Free cancellation

4.8 (138 reviews)

from €195 per person

Book on GetYourGuide

Prices and ratings in these cards come from the booking platform when the page loads. They include taxes and booking fees; child rates, where a tour has them, are on the product page.

Questions travellers ask

How long is a husky ride in Rovaniemi?

It depends on the format. Combination tours with reindeer often include 500 m on the husky sled. The ride in Santa Claus Village covers 2.5 km in about 7–12 minutes. Self-drive safaris cover 5–10 km, with between 20 minutes and about an hour on the sled on the tours we list.

Can I drive the sled myself?

Yes, on the self-drive safaris. Usually two adults share a team and swap at some point. Kennels set their own minimum age for drivers: Bearhill Husky lets you drive from 17, another operator we checked from 18.

Can children join a husky safari?

On many tours they can ride in the sled. On the 5 km daytime safari below, for example, two adults share the team and children travel in the sled. Check the age rules in each listing before you book.

Are there husky rides before the snow?

Yes. In October and November some kennels harness the dogs to a wheeled cart instead of a sled. One autumn tour runs 5–8 km and you drive the team yourself.

When does the husky season start in Rovaniemi?

Sled rides usually start between mid and late November and run until early or mid April. Bearhill’s rides in Santa Claus Village run from 30 November 2026 to 4 April 2027. In late April some operators switch to wheeled carts.

Where these facts come from

Dates, opening hours and rules change. We checked these pages in October 2026; the official source has the final word.